Colonial Williamsburg Trip: an indulgence in food, history, and colonial style

This past week B and I drove the 12 hours up to Williamsburg, VA for a three day and two night vacation graduation present. We stayed at a B & B, partially because I thought it would “fit” more with the historic surrounding I was so excited to immerse myself in soon enough and also because B had never stayed in one before. I love showing people new things they haven’t experienced before – if I know they will like/enjoy it that is! And sure enough, as soon as we stepped foot in the absolutely charming Inn at 802 any of B’s hesitations about staying at a B & B (aka “someone’s home”, according to him pre-trip) were immediately erased. I loved our room, (The Duke of Gloucester Room) it was even better in real life than I saw in the pictures online beforehand. We would want to stay there again when we came back again to visit – hopefully at Christmas time, I’ve never been during the holiday season but every picture I’ve seen looks all the more better dressed in snow and colonial holiday decor.




Something that really surprised me was the food we ate on our trip. Every dish at each meal was delicious. I think it was one of the rare trips I’ve been on where I never had a mediocre or average meal! Our favorite restaurant by far, though, was The Fat Canary . I still can’t stop talking (or thinking) about how delicious with a capital D our dinner was. In complete seriousness, it was one of the best meals I’ve had in all 22 years. While I didn’t take any pictures of the food (much to B’s happiness/relief) I can still remember everything we had in detail: Seared tuna – delightfully very fresh – in this kind of tempura crusting on the outside of the tuna, (the wine list offered was nothing short of amazing, I guess it helps that “The Wine Cellar” shop is owned by the same family below the restaurant) followed by pan seared scallops with cherry tomatoes and thyme for him and I was lucky enough to order the pork chops with Gruyere bread pudding, and swiss chard, apples, walnuts and bacon on the side covering the pork. Dessert was a unique blend of flavors – sea salt and walnut brownie with espresso ice cream. Somehow all of it blended together so nicely.

Let’s just say in the future, every time we make a trip up there, we will be sure to stop for lunch or dinner at The Fat Canary.

Last thing: Check out this pretty vibrant and graphic rug pattern I saw in the ballroom of the Governor’s Mansion at CW. I was really drawn to it even thought I’m not a huge print person myself.

Oh, and also: never drive to ‘back way’ to Williamsburg no matter what your GPS tells you – besides having to get on a FERRY to cross the river, you end up driving through about an hour of back woods, middle of nowhere country side. And this isn’t pretty countryside like you would see in the current issue of Southern Living, it’s more of a Texas Chainsaw middle of nowhere setting. Pass!

One thought on “Colonial Williamsburg Trip: an indulgence in food, history, and colonial style

  1. “And this isn’t pretty countryside like you would see in the current issue of Southern Living, it’s more of a Texas Chainsaw middle of nowhere setting. ”

    Sara, you were close to where I used to go squirrel hunting near W’burg 🙂 out in the middle of nowhere.

Leave a Reply

