Around the Globe: First Lady Style

I know I’ve said (on facebook, so it’s official right?) that my dream job would be the social secretary for a White House administration, but honestly I don’t think anything would be better than being a First Lady. Well, the 2000s kinds of First Lady that is – not so much the 1980s/1990s Tipper Gore outfits, but that’s a whole other post entirely! I’ll never forget that 2008 Vanity Fair issue with France’s fabulously stylish (and slightly past-life scandalous) first lady, Carla Bruni, on the cover. This was before I had a subscription and I bought this issue in particular simply because of her cover. From Carla to Michelle Obama to Jordan’s Queen Rania, to England’s new PM leading lady Samantha Cameron to Spain’s Princess Letizia, they all embody different kinds of style and I love seeing what they wear next (sidenote: Huffington Post’s Style section does an excellent job of posting on various royal fashions/outings.) Not to get all historically clichĂ©, but the deep jewel purple keeps coming up in First Lady/royal outfits (see at least 3 below), reminiscent of the purple royalty wore a really, really long time ago in ancient Greece/Rome/Egypt. Guess some things in history don’t change!

Michelle gave J.Crew some presidential press (she even has a style blog dedicated to her – you can’t get more legit than that! As an former model Carla Bruni always looks incredible, whether its classic style or laid back chic. Queen Rania especially has some gorgeous dresses and Princess Letizia’s nickname is “Princess Fashion Plate.” Samantha Cameron is newest to the bunch, and while I like what I’ve seen so far, time will only tell – she does have some fashionably stiff competition. Forgot a fabulous First Lady or royal? Let me know!


Carla Bruni (France)





Michelle Obama





Queen Rania (Jordan)





Princess Letizia (Spain)





Samantha Cameron (UK)





….. Lastly, I really didn’t feel the post would be appropriate without ending it with the First Lady that began everything, Jackie O. I don’t think there will be a time when people stop emulating her classic style (at least I hope not!)

picture from elle.com

Leave a Reply

